A Drunk Driving Charge Is Not The Same As A Conviction
Anyone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .08% may be found guilty of drunk driving. The law will come down even harder on those with levels higher than .10% or when the offense occurs in certain areas. In some circumstances, a person can be convicted of drunk driving even if their BAC was below the legal limit if it can be proved that the driver’s ability to operate the vehicle was compromised.
Do not accept a drunk driving conviction that you do not have to. With a strong defense, you may be able to avoid the serious penalties that follow, including jail time or license suspension. At Agre & St. John, we keep your rights at the forefront of your case and help protect you in court. Call us at 856-422-8364.
The Consequences Of Conviction Are Steep
A charge of driving under the influence is a serious matter that has the potential to affect every aspect of your life. A conviction carries severe penalties that may include some or all of the following:
- Community service
- Fines, fees and surcharges
- Jail time
- License suspension
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
Individuals convicted of DWI charges in South Jersey will be forced to pay fines that can range from several hundred to several thousand dollars. Additionally, offenders will be subject to an insurance surcharge of up to $1,500 that must be paid every year for three years. New Jersey also requires every offender to spend a minimum of 12 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Furthermore, the DMV retains a permanent record of all DWI convictions and will refer to the record for sentencing purposes for 10 years.
DWI Penalties For First Time Offenders
First-time offenders can have their driving privileges revoked for a minimum of three months, or up to one year, and may face a prison sentence of up to 30 days depending on the level of alcohol detected.
For drivers with a BAC of .15% or higher, the state requires the installation of an ignition interlock device that prevents a vehicle from starting if the driver has a BAC of .05% or higher. The driver must pay for the IID and its maintenance for the duration of their license suspension, and for up to a year following restoration.
What To Expect From Subsequent DWIs
In addition to multiple fines and fees, an individual caught driving under the influence a second time will have their driving privileges revoked for a minimum of two years. They also face minimum incarceration of 48 hours and may face up to 90 days in jail. Additionally, a repeat offender must perform 30 days of community service. The use of an ignition interlock device is mandatory during the period of suspension and for one to three years after.
A Lawyer You Can Trust To Handle All Types Of DWI Cases
We at Agre & St. John know that everyone makes mistakes. Whatever your situation, our understanding and compassionate DWI lawyers will fight on your behalf to make sure that one mistake does not destroy your life. To find out how we can put our experience and intricate knowledge of New Jersey DWI laws to work for you, call 856-422-8364 today to schedule your free and confidential consultation or contact us online.