Trusted Megan’s Law Defense Lawyers in Haddonfield, NJ Help Clients with Megan’s Law Removal in Atlantic County, Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Throughout South Jersey
Megan’s Law is a comprehensive set of laws that places strict registration requirements on specific convicted sex offender classifications in New Jersey. These laws apply at both the state and federal levels. If you or someone you know has been convicted of certain sex crimes, you are likely already aware of the heavy burden that Megan’s Law can impose. Under Megan’s Law, whenever you move, you are required to inform local law enforcement of where you live, and your picture can be posted online under the label of sex offender. The compassionate and understanding New Jersey Megan’s Law attorneys at Agre & St. John know that this can cause undue trauma for you and your family. Our New Jersey Megan’s Law attorneys are deeply familiar with the Megan’s Law removal process and we can help you remove these requirements and their associated stigmas from you and your record. Contact our skilled Megan’s Law defense lawyers in Haddonfield, NJ today to learn more about how we can help you.
Don't face criminal charges alone – contact Agre & St. John today for experienced legal representation that will fight to protect your rights.
The Megan’s Law Removal Process as Per New Jersey’s Registered Sex Offender Laws
If you must register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law, the requirements and consequences are extensive and go well beyond any time you may serve in prison or fines, probation, and other penalties that may be imposed on you. As per Megan’s Law and NJ Rev Stat § 2C:7-2 (2013), which provides the definitions, requirements, and penalties related to registering as a sex offender in New Jersey, you must remain in contact with local law enforcement and may even face moving and working restrictions wherever you live, move, ad work. Law enforcement personnel will notify various social and community organizations about your criminal history whenever you move into a new neighborhood and your ability to travel and use the internet may also be restricted. All of this will be in addition to the embarrassment and stigma of having your past convictions open and available to the public.
Despite all of this, New Jersey law has outlined a process in which you can have any applicable Megan’s Law requirements removed once 15 years have passed after the completion of your sentences.
In general, you qualify for Megan’s Law removal if:
- You have had a clean record and have not committed any crimes in the 15 years since the completion of your sex crime punishment;
- You are not deemed to be a threat to the safety of others;
- The sex crime for which you were convicted qualifies for removal.
Remember that even if you meet the requirements above, qualification for removal is not automatic. At Agre & St. John, or skilled New Jersey Megan’s Law attorneys will work to build a strong case that favors removal. Our dependable Megan’s Law defense lawyers in Haddonfield, NJ will investigate your case to gather evidence, with a particular focus on your recent history and character, so that we can convince the relevant judge that you are no longer a threat to the community.
Every case is unique, but we typically gather the following information in Megan’s Law removal cases:
- Your recent work history
- Ties to the community
- Positive impact on the community
- Proving your compliance to Megan’s Law during the 15 years since you completed your sentence
- Any relevant counseling that you may have completed
The process can take a few months, but with Megan’s Law removal, you can get your life back on track. Call our New Jersey Megan’s Law attorneys today so that we can begin the process of compiling your records and building a sound case for you.
Take control of your defense – schedule a confidential consultation with Agre & St. John's experienced criminal defense team to discuss your case and explore your legal options.
The Tiered Sex Offender System and Obtaining a Removal from the Internet Sex Offender Registry
In some cases, even if you are not eligible for Megan’s Law removal (for example, if 15 years have not yet elapsed since the completion of your sentences), you can potentially lower your sex offender tier. The State of New Jersey uses a tiered system to classify sex offenders as low, medium, or high-risk.
If you are classified as a Tier 2 or Tier 3 offender (meaning moderate or high risk, respectively), you may be added to the Internet Sex Offender Registry. You may also be included in community notifications wherever you live and work, and the public will have access to your name and address, information about your vehicle, details on your conviction, your physical description, your photo, and your tier classification. Our committed Megan’s Law defense lawyers in Haddonfield, NJ can help you with a Megan’s Law removal as well as a tier reduction petition. There is no case we will not handle and no situation too complex for us to help with, so contact our reliable New Jersey Megan’s Law attorneys today for skillful assistance with your case.
Call Agre & St. John Today to Discuss Your Megan’s Law Removal Options
Megan’s Law removal is a complex yet worthwhile process. New Jersey’s criminal courts take sex offender registration and related processes very seriously. If you have questions or concerns about Megan’s Law registration or rules and requirements for the removal process, call us today. All consultations are 100% free and confidential.