Aggressive and Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is the cause of many car accidents and injuries each year, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Drivers who cause such accidents may be issued traffic violations, the penalties for which include fines, loss of driving privileges, and even imprisonment. A Cherry Hill traffic violations lawyer at Agre & St. John is dedicated to fighting for the best possible outcome for clients, whether that means getting their fines reduced, reinstating their driving privileges, or getting their charges dismissed altogether.
Reckless Driving in New Jersey
New Jersey defines reckless driving as operating a motor vehicle with disregard for the safety of others, thereby putting them at risk of injury. Specifically, the statute states that a person shall be of reckless driving if they:
- Drive a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others
- In a manner to endanger a person or property
According to the statute, reckless driving is punishable by imprisonment for no longer than 60 days and a fine ranging from $50 to $200. Harsher penalties may be imposed for subsequent convictions, such as imprisonment for up to three months and a fine up to $500.
Careless and Unsafe Driving in New Jersey
In New Jersey, those whose driving does not rise to the level of reckless may still be cited for careless driving. Consequences of a careless driving citation include two driver’s license points, up to 15 days of jail time, and increased auto insurance rates. Unsafe driving, an even lesser traffic violation, is subject to fines of up to $200, however, no motor vehicle penalty points are assessed for first or second-time offenders.
Aggressive Driving Behaviors
One of the most common types of aggressive driving behaviors is speeding, which accounted for more than 26 percent of all traffic fatalities in 2017, according to the NHTSA. Other types of aggressive and reckless driving offenses include:
- Abrupt lane changes, often without signaling
- Blocking cars from passing
- Cutting off other vehicles
- Driving while intoxicated
- Excessive use of headlights, horn, or brakes
- Failure to obey traffic laws
- Failure to yield or stop at an intersection
- Road rage behavior, such as yelling at or threatening the other driver, making obscene gestures, and pulling over to engage in physical violence
- Running red lights or stop signs
- Weaving in and out of traffic
There are many reasons why drivers engage in reckless driving behaviors, including that they are running late, or they are frustrated with traffic. However, these reasons will not help to avoid traffic violations; those facing traffic violations in New Jersey should contact a Cherry Hill traffic violations lawyer as soon as possible to ensure that their rights are protected.
Reckless Driving Defenses
There are several defenses to a reckless driving charge in New Jersey. A skilled attorney can help those facing violations for reckless, careless, or unsafe driving by arguing that:
- An emergency necessitated the driving behavior
- No one was harmed or put at risk
- The blood alcohol content (BAC) test result was flawed
- The speed measurement was incorrect
- There was improper signage
In most cases, it is best to seek the counsel of a qualified attorney who may be able to get the charges reduced or dismissed. Having a lawyer with traffic court experience to contest the violations typically increases the chances of obtaining a favorable outcome.
Contact a Cherry Hill Traffic Violations Lawyer at Agre & St. John to Defend Your Reckless Driving Charges
If you were charged with reckless driving, contact a Cherry Hill traffic violations lawyer at Agre & St. John. Our attorneys have extensive experience representing clients throughout South Jersey on all types of traffic violation matters. From our office conveniently located in Haddonfield, New Jersey, we provide skilled legal representation to clients throughout South Jersey, including Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County. To schedule an initial consultation, please complete our online contact form or call us at 856-428-7797.