Firm Logo

What Are the Penalties for a First DUI Charge in New Jersey?

What Are the Penalties for a First DUI Charge in New Jersey? Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) can be a harrowing experience, but you may have legal options. With an experienced lawyer on your side, they can help you fight to get the best possible outcome. For a first conviction of impaired driving, the penalties can vary depending upon many factors. However the penalties are the same if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test or refuse to submit blood or urine samples when requested by a police officer. A person who is convicted of drunk driving will lose their driving privileges for a minimum of six months. If they are convicted of a DUI offense and their blood alcohol content (BAC) level is 0.08 percent or higher but less than 0.10 percent, they may face the following penalties:

  • Fine of $250 to $400.
  • Jail sentence ranging from 12 hours to 30 days.
  • Attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
  • Driver’s license suspension for three months.
  • Insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years.
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee.
  • Safe Neighborhood Services Fund fee.
  • Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund fee.
  • Ignition interlock device requirement.

If the person’s BAC is 0.10 or higher, their fines will increase, and there could be a driver’s license suspension for seven months to one year. New Jersey also uses an implied consent law that states when you are arrested for DUI, you automatically give your consent to be tested if you are suspected of drunk driving.

Second DUI Conviction

If you are convicted of a second DUI charge, the penalties may increase and might include the following:

  • A fine between $500 to $1,500.
  • License suspension of two years.
  • Imprisonment of 48 hours to 90 days.
  • Community service of up to 30 days.
  • Installation of ignition interlock device for three years.
  • Motor vehicle surcharge of $3,000 for three years.

South Jersey DUI lawyers at Agre & St. John Can Help You if You Have a First-Time DUI Charge

Being convicted of DUI can greatly impact your life, but you do not have to go through it alone. Our South Jersey DUI lawyersat Agre & St. John can help you get the best possible outcome in your case. Located in Haddonfield, New Jersey, we serve clients throughout South Jersey, including Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County. Call us at 856-428-7797 or complete our online form for an initial consultation.

firm logofirm logo

Client Reviews


"Robert Agre told me what to expect each step of my case. He earned my trust with his knowledge of criminal law, ability to explain the process, and open communication. I was most impressed by his quick response time to my many questions throughout the process. I am grateful that I found him and appreciate everything he did for me. "

See all client reviews
Firm Logo

Get A 100% Free Case Evaluation From A Top-Rated Criminal Defense Attorney

Call: 856-454-8674 or Schedule Consultation


© 2024 Agre & St. John. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer.Site Map.