Firm Logo

South Jersey Criminal Lawyers Explain the Law Prohibiting Harassment

What actions constitute “harassment”?

New Jersey Statute 2C:33-4 sets forth the charge of harassment. That statute prohibits certain distinct conduct. First, it prohibits an individual from communicating with another person anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, in coarse language or in any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm. Second, the law prohibits an individual from striking, kicking or offensively touching or threatening to touch another person. Third, it forbids an individual from engaging in any other course of conduct or repeated acts for the purpose of alarming or seriously annoying another person. In addition, if a person charged with harassment was on probation or on parole at the time of the alleged harassment, N.J.S.A. automatically elevates the disorderly persons charge to a fourth degree offense. Similarly, a charge of harassment will be elevated from a disorderly persons offense to a fourth degree offense if the person charged with harassment was trying to intimidate an individual because of the individual’s race, color, religion, gender, handicap, sexual orientation or ethnicity.

What are the potential penalties for an individual found guilty of harassment?

Typically, the penalty for a disorderly person’s offense includes a fine up to $500 with a potential sentence up to 30 days in county jail. The penalty for a fourth degree conviction is much more serious; it may include a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of up to 18 months.

Haddonfield Criminal Defense Lawyers at the Law Offices of Agre & St. John Represent Clients Charged with Harassment in New Jersey

South Jersey criminal defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Agre & St. John are experienced in criminal defense, legal ethics, trial practice and personal injury litigation. We are dedicated to providing our clients with the highest quality legal representation. From our offices located in historic Haddonfield, the Law Offices of Agre & St. John serve clients throughout South Jersey, including Camden County, Burlington County, Gloucester County, Cumberland County, and Salem County. To arrange an initial consultation, call 856-428-7797 or contact us online.

firm logofirm logo

Client Reviews


"Robert Agre told me what to expect each step of my case. He earned my trust with his knowledge of criminal law, ability to explain the process, and open communication. I was most impressed by his quick response time to my many questions throughout the process. I am grateful that I found him and appreciate everything he did for me. "

See all client reviews
Firm Logo

Get A 100% Free Case Evaluation From A Top-Rated Criminal Defense Attorney

Call: 856-454-8674 or Schedule Consultation


© 2024 Agre & St. John. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer.Site Map.