Labor Day is the unofficial end of summer, and many people will celebrate the holiday with alcohol. This year, the National Safety Council reports that approximately 466 people may lose their lives in accidents on the holiday weekend, including drunk driving collisions. However, this does not have to be the case if people plan ahead of time. Those who plan to drink can arrange for a designated driver or rideshare service to take them home. It is also wise to drink water or non-alcoholic drinks during the festivities. Party hosts should serve a variety of non-alcoholic drinks, and hosts should keep an eye out for anyone who may be over the limit. Instead of letting intoxicated guests drive home, the host can arrange a ride for them or let them sleep over. It is always more dangerous to drive at night, specifically between the hours of midnight and 3:00 a.m., which is when most drunk driving accidents happen. Sober motorists need to be extra vigilant if they drive home from a Labor Day event.
What are the Penalties of Drunk Driving?
New Jersey has very steep driving under the influence (DUI) penalties, including fines and possible jail time. If a first time offender’s blood alcohol content level turns out to be between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, the possible penalties include:
- A fine of $250 to $400.
- Jail sentence of up to 30 days.
- Having to forfeit the driver’s license until an ignition interlock is installed. This lock stays on for three months.
- An auto insurance surcharge, which is $1,000 per year, for three years.
These consequences all increase when the BAC is higher and for subsequent DUI offenses.
When Should I Contact a Lawyer?
Anyone who faces a DUI charge should get in contact with an experienced lawyer for legal advice. Many defendants are able to prove that they were not impaired. A lawyer might be able to raise doubts about how the sobriety test was administered and calibrated. It may also be possible to have the prosecution’s evidence suppressed. The law enforcement officer may have stopped the driver without probable cause or might have violated their rights in another way. Some defendants end up pleading to a lesser charge that has fewer penalties.
South Jersey DUI Lawyers at Agre & St. John Help Those Accused of Drunk Driving on Labor Day Weekend
Not all DUI cases are straightforward. If you receive a DUI charge on Labor Day weekend or any other time of the year, our South Jersey DUI lawyers at Agre & St. John can help. For a confidential consultation, complete our online form or call us at 856-428-7797. Located in Haddonfield, New Jersey, we serve clients throughout South Jersey, including Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County.