Can I Get a Drunk Driving Charge for Sleeping in a Parked Car?

Blog

In New Jersey, a person can acquire a driving under the influence (DUI) charge if the evidence shows that they were or they intended to operate a vehicle. The vehicle does not necessarily need to be moving in order for the driver to be found guilty of such a charge.

While sleeping in one’s car is not an offense by itself, if the driver has a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of over 0.08 percent and they are over the age of 21 years old and not operating a commercial vehicle, then the driver could be charged with DUI.

Driving While Intoxicated is Determined on a Case-by-Case Basis

Whether or not a driver was considered to be operating a vehicle will be determined in a case-by-case basis. Therefore, if the intoxicated driver is discovery by the police to be sleeping on the side of the highway, there is a good evidence that the person was intoxicated when they operated the vehicle to get to that point.

On the other hand, if the person was found sleeping in the parking lot of a bar, then the driver could make a reasonable argument that they never operated the vehicle while under the influence. Whether the car was running, the keys were in the ignition, and whether the driver was in fact in the driver’s seat will all be taken into consideration.

What are the Penalties of a DUI Charge?

If a person’s BAC level is found to be over the legal limit in New Jersey, the first sentence can include:

  • A jail sentence of up to 30 days.
  • A suspension of the driver’s license for three months.
  • A fine of at least $250 and up to $400.
  • Community service.
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for six months to a year on the driver’s car.

Drivers who have been found guilty of multiple DUI charges will face steeper penalties with each offense.

A second DUI offense can include:

  • A jail sentence of up to 90 days.
  • A suspension of the driver’s license for up to two years.
  • A fine of $500 to $1,000.
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for one to three years.
  • Community service.

A third offense can carry a sentence of jail time up to six months, a fine of $1,000, and suspension of the driver’s license for up to 10 years. This is in addition to potential installation of the ignition interlock device and community service. Since the stakes become higher with each offense, it is crucial to have the right legal representation.

If you have received a DUI charge because you were discovered sleeping in your car, a South Jersey DUI lawyer at Agre & St. John can help in your defense. We will look at all the circumstances surrounding the DUI charge and offer the best defense possible. We are located in Haddonfield, New Jersey, and we serve clients throughout South Jersey, including Camden County, Burlington County, Gloucester County, and Salem County. Contact us online or call us at 856-454-8674 for an initial consultation.

Schedule Your Criminal Defense Case Evaluation

Provide the information below or call us at:

856-454-8674

100% Secure. We respect your privacy.

See here.

firm logo
handcuff icon

Criminal Defense

building icon

Federal Crimes

shield icon

DUI/DWI

gavel icon

Drug Crimes

person icon

Sex Crimes

scale icon

Weapons Offenses

Client Reviews

★★★★★
  • "The best guys for representation you could ever want!"

    "Excellent advice and direction. Knowledgeable of all options. Prepares you for every step of your case, even when you aren't aware. If you find them, stop looking and just call Chris or Bob. Their bios speak for themselves. They are so friendly and care about you and your case!!"

  • "I highly recommend Robert Agre to anyone in need of a criminal attorney"

    "Robert Agre told me what to expect each step of my case. He earned my trust with his knowledge of criminal law, ability to explain the process, and open communication. I was most impressed by his quick response time to my many questions throughout the process. I am grateful that I found him and appreciate everything he did for me. "

  • "I recommend Mr. St. John to any individual seeking counsel"

    "Mr. St. John has not only proficiently and tenaciously defended me each time it was necessary, he has gone above and beyond. With Mr. St. John, I never felt as though I was a number, a file, or merely a client. His professionalism, reputation, and rapport in the field are apparent without the need for words. I have and will continue to trust him without hesitation, despite the underlying fear brought about by criminal charges. Chris, THANK YOU for the compassion and kindness you possess, which parallel the dedication you have to individuals such as myself."

See all client reviews
firm logo

Get A 100% Free Case Evaluation From A Top-Rated Criminal Defense Attorney

Call: 856-454-8674 or Schedule Consultation

Meet your team

Robert N. Agre Christopher St. John Tess Berkowitz Shirley Genay Shirley Genay