If your teenager has been caught drinking and driving, you may feel a range of emotions – from shock and disbelief to anger and frustration. Drunk driving is a serious offense, and teenagers in New Jersey face severe consequences if convicted.
This blog post will provide information on the consequences of getting a DUI and offer advice on how to best support your child during this difficult time.
What is New Jersey’s zero-tolerance law?
In New Jersey, a DUI is considered a serious offense, and teenagers face harsh penalties if convicted. If they are caught driving and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .01 or above, they will face the following consequences:
- Loss of driving privileges for 30-90 days
- Community service
- Participation in an alcohol and traffic safety education program
If an underage driver is found to have a BAC of .08 or higher, they will also face the same DUI charges as an adult, which include:
- A $250 to $500 fine
- 12 to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
- Imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, at the court’s discretion
- Driver’s license suspension for 3-12 months
- Possible installation of an interlock device for 6-12 months
If your teenager is arrested for a DUI in New Jersey, it is essential to take immediate steps to protect their rights and interests. In some cases, it may be possible to have the charges reduced or dismissed entirely. In other cases, negotiating a plea bargain may result in a less severe sentence. The most important thing during this time is to provide your teenager with experienced legal support and guidance as they navigate the consequences.