The state of New Jersey has some of the most congested streets in the country. Cars, motorcycles, bicycles, scooters, and pedestrians all share the roadways and it can be quite intimidating to drivers. In an effort to improve safety for all travelers, New Jersey has created the Safe Passing Law, which took effect on March 1, 2022.
The safe passing law is now considered the strongest passing law in the country. Drivers are required to use extra caution when sharing the road with other travelers including those who are on bicycles, scooters, or people on foot.
What does the safe passing law require of drivers?
The new safe passing law requires drivers to use due caution when sharing the road with vulnerable travelers. In order to accomplish this, drivers must:
- Follow laws prohibiting speeding and follow laws in no-passing zones. If a lane is open they must move over.
- Drivers are required to maintain a safe distance of at least four feet when passing other travelers on a single-lane road.
- When it isn’t possible to maintain a four-foot distance from other vehicles, drivers must not exceed 25 mph. They must be ready to stop at all times, and only pass others when they can safely do so.
The penalties for not following the safe passing rules are as follows:
- Drivers who are cited for violating the safe passing law will be fined $100 if there were no injuries when the violation occurred.
- Drivers who injure others when attempting to pass them will be fined $500 and have two points added to their driving record.
Lawmakers hope to improve safety for pedestrians and other vehicles using the roads by implementing this new law. In the meantime, seek legal assistance if you have been injured by a motor vehicle that was trying to pass you,