Nowadays, teenagers are constantly looking at their phones. While the trend is worrisome for parents, it is most alarming when a teenager is driving. Using a cellphone while driving a serious threat to everyone on the road. Throughout the United States, using a cellphone is strictly prohibited while driving. If a driver is convicted of using a phone, it can lead to serious consequences, especially for repeat offenders.
Why is it Illegal to Use a Phone While Driving?
The law is intended to prevent drivers from being distracted while driving. Distracted driving leads to serious car accidents, so it important for all motorists to be focused on the road.
While eating, grooming, and other activities can distract a driver, distractions involving cellphones are generally more explicit. For example, drivers in New Jersey may not text, email, or engage in phone conversations on handheld devices while operating motor vehicles.
Can I Make Calls Through a Bluetooth Device?
Drivers may use their phone in hands-free mode as long as this use does not distract them from driving. Importantly, the motorist must display an abundance of caution when attempting to employ a hands-free device while driving. Additionally, the placement of the hands-free device must not obstruct or impede the operation of federally required safety equipment.
What are the Penalties in New Jersey for Using a Phone While Driving?
Using a cellphone while driving is a traffic violation. First offenders are subject to a fine of $200 to $400. A second violation increases the fine to $400 to $600. Penalties for a third offense or any subsequent offense includes a fine between $600 and $800, as well as three points on a driving record. In addition, the court may suspend the driver’s license up to 90 days.
A person who uses a cellphone while driving risks much more than fines. If a driver puts another person in danger, they may also be charged with reckless driving. If a car accident leads to a fatality, one may be charged with vehicular homicide.
When is it Legal to Use a Cellphone While Driving?
Exceptions do exist for emergency situations. For example, a driver may use one hand to call for help if they fear for their life or safety, if they are trying to stop a crime, or if they are notifying authorities about an emergency. Drunk drivers, fires, car accidents, or dangerous road conditions can be considered emergencies.
What Should I Do if I am Facing Fines?
If a driver is facing a traffic violation, they should speak to a lawyer. A lawyer will construct a viable argument to defend their client. Using a cellphone can lead to serious charges, so it is important to contact a lawyer right away after one is accused.
Cherry Hill Traffic Violations Lawyers at Agre & St. John Represent Drivers Accused of Cellphone Use
If you received a citation for using a cellphone while driving, our Cherry Hill traffic violations lawyers at Agre & St. John can help. We understand how these charges can lead to hefty fines. Complete our online form or call us at 856-428-7797 for an initial consultation. Located in Haddonfield, New Jersey, we proudly defend clients throughout South Jersey, including Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County.