What Are the Penalties of a DUI Charge for Minors?

DUI

Parents may constantly remind their teenagers to stay away from alcohol and drugs, and particularly, not to drink and drive. However, there are times when teenagers break the rules. In New Jersey, the penalties of a driving under the influence (DUI) charge for minors are steep.

Minors can be charged with the following:

  • Minors charged with underage drinking in New Jersey are faced with a fine of $500. They do not need to be driving to face this fine.
  • Those convicted of underage drinking could face a six-month driver’s license suspension. It is important to know that the minor does not need to be driving to get this suspension. They can be a passenger.
  • Minors who have a DUI charge need to go to the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center for 12 to 48 hours.
  • Community service for 15 to 30 days.

Does the Blood Alcohol Concentration Level Matter?

Those over 21 years old must have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 or above to be charged with intoxication. For those under 21 years old, the BAC level only needs to be above 0.01 percent, but less than 0.08 percent, in order to be charged with underage DUI.

If a minor has a BAC level between .01 percent and .07 percent, they can lose their license for 30 to 90 days. They may also have to participate in an alcohol and driver safety program. They can be charged with a fine of $500 and have to do 15 to 30 days of community service.

If a minor driver has a BAC level of 0.08 BAC or higher, they can be punished with both a “baby DUI charge” and an “adult DUI charge.” This BAC level could also mean jail time. Car insurance will likely greatly increase after an arrest for a minor DUI charge.

How Can I Help My Teenager?

Many teenagers go to social events where alcohol is served, especially at holiday events. Some teenagers mimic adults at social gatherings. Teenagers should be discouraged to consume alcohol and drugs. Parents should teach their children the dangers of alcohol as well as the dangers of drunk driving.

If your teenager is charged with DUI, you and your child are encouraged to speak to a lawyer. A lawyer can help you and your child explore the legal options.

South Jersey DUI Lawyers at Agre & St. John Represent Minors Who Have DUI Charges

If your child has been arrested for drunk driving, contact our South Jersey DUI lawyers at Agre & St. John as soon as possible. Call us at 856-428-7797 or fill out our online form for an initial consultation today. Located in Haddonfield, New Jersey, we serve clients throughout South Jersey, including Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County.

Statement Regarding Coronavirus Disease ("Covid-19"):
PLEASE READ »

A Message to Our Clients: We Are Here to Help You.

At The Law Offices of Robert N. Agre, we view the safety and well-being of our clients, staff and business partners as our highest priority.

The situation regarding the COVID-19 virus is continually changing, and we are following all recommended guidelines to stay healthy.

Currently, our office is open and we are able to meet with you virtually.

We are responding to emails and voicemails and are happy to arrange phone or video consultations. We are also able to exchange documents via secure drives or email.

Should you have any concerns regarding an upcoming meeting with us, please contact us online or call (856) 428-7797.

Thank you and take care.